Moving On


I still remember everything,

Like it was just yesterday

It was a warm summer evening,

I saw you walking towards me

And my whole world stopped

You had me since the first hello.

 

I knew my Life would never be the same again

I felt like a princess and you were the prince

You were the one, and I knew it well

Life was beautiful because of you

 

Walking in the rain

Conversations that never end

You even told me that you loved me

And promised that you would stand by me forever

 

I planned out our future

I even day-dreamed,

Walking down the aisle

In a beautiful white gown

 

But that day, turned everything around

I heard you talking to your friends about me

You were telling them sick things and

How it I was the easiest of all his preys

Your words felt like knives piercing me

You were a wolf in a sheep’s clothing

I realized that you were just pretending

 

You saw me, and I could see it

In your eyes that you were not sorry

But you came running after me apologizing

And how you were just joking around,

And I said ” How could you do this to me,

I thought I knew you,

Just leave me alone,

And don’t ever come into my life again”

 

I felt deserted

I never imagined we’d end like this

Darkness creeping into my life

As I realized that everything was gone

 

The girl in the mirror was betrayed,

and she cried herself to sleep

But then again, finding out now was easier

And I want you to know that I’m moving on.

Note: This is just a fragment of my imagination, and any resemblance to actual events or persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

4 responses to “Moving On

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Moving On « Indu Prakash -- Topsy.com

  2. I feature poetry on my site once a month and would like to include Dark Side of the Moon in April if you wouldn’t mind. You will get a link back to your blog and full credit for the poem. Also three times a year I will post the previous four months of poetry into one large post, including this one.

    If you would like to see the first Poetic License to see what it looks like before deciding, here is the link. (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/poetic-license/).

    Whatever you decide, this is a great poem. Thanks for your consideration.

  3. I’m sorry about getting the name of your poem wrong. I was pasting the same message into several blogs today. Moving On is added and will be posted the first Monday in March.

    Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

